Need to get in touch?
Toll-Free: 1-800-465-4149
Gaynette Spafford wins the 2017 CBC Branch President’s Award
By  CMG  •  Posted on  June 1, 2017

Gaynette Spafford Winner of the 2017 CBC Branch President’s Award, with CMG President at CBC Jonathan Spence











Gaynette Spafford has been presented with the CBC Branch President’s Award for her contributions to the Guild.

Gaynette was selected for the honour by her peers who emphasized her impact as a leader and as someone not afraid to speak up during difficult discussions. They also noted that she frequently reminds others of fairness and policy, and flags problems and risks that others may not see.

Currently the CBC Branch Executive’s Secretary-Treasurer, Gaynette has kept a sharp eye on CMG members’ money. Her attention to detail and strong commitment to the position are also being duly recognized.

A long-time Guild activist, Gaynette has served with excellence and integrity on many union committees, including CBC Branch Finance, National Executive Committee, Consultative Committee on Staff Benefits, National Joint Employment Planning, CBC Branch Bylaws and Policies, CBC Branch Management, CMG National Hardship Committee, Local and National Employee Assistance Program, Bargaining Selection, and most famously… on the Committee to Review Committees.

“Please accept my sincere thanks on behalf of your colleagues and all Guild members at CBC/Radio-Canada for all you have done and continue to do,” said CBC Branch President Jonathan Spence in presenting the award at the 2017 CBC Branch President’s Council meeting on May 27.

The CBC Branch President’s Award is presented every two years during the biennial gathering of CBC location presidents from across the country. The winner is selected by a committee from among members nominated by their colleagues. 

Jonathan Spence, CBC/Radio-Canada Branch President
Canadian Media Guild


Comments are closed.

Bookmark and Share
Contact information for CMG officials at CBC
© 2000- CMG