Journalism awards
By CMG  •  Posted on December 7, 2021

Submissions for the prestigious Canadian Hillman Prize are open until January 15, 2022. The Hillman Awards are given to “honour excellence in investigative journalism in service of the common good”. All submissions must have been broadcast or published, on any … Read more »

By CMG  •  Posted on January 11, 2021

Hillman Prizes honour excellence in journalism “in service of the common good”. Submissions will be accepted until January 15, 2021 and there is no entry fee. Read more »

By CMG  •  Posted on March 27, 2020

The members of our union share the pride of Canadian Media Guild (CMG) members at TFO who have been recognized for journalistic excellence. Bravo to Andréanne Baribeau, Joanne Belluco, Étienne Fortin-Gauthier, Aimé Majeau Beauchamp and Gisèle Quenneville – the ONFR+ … Read more »

By CMG  •  Posted on January 19, 2016

CMG and our parent union CWA Canada together with the Canadian Association of Journalists offer a $1,000 prize for excellence in Labour Reporting. If you or someone you know reported on the social, economic and political factors that impact the … Read more »

By CMG  •  Posted on June 15, 2015

CBC News’ Dave Seglins, Gord Westmacott, John Nicol, Heather Evans, Carla Turner, and Jeremy MacDonald won the journalism excellence award for the must-see Rail fatigue in Canada – A silent peril which aired on CBC’s The Current. Read more »

By CMG  •  Posted on February 2, 2015

You are invited to the presentation and reception for the 5th Annual Canadian Hillman Prize in Journalism,an award that honours excellence in journalism in service of the common good. The event will take place on March 12th, 2015  at the Drake … Read more »

By CMG  •  Posted on December 2, 2013

Journalism awards – Submit your work before the end of the year! You or a colleague may be interested in submitting your work for three prestigious journalism awards: the Canadian Hillman Prize; the 2013 CWA/CAJ Award for Labour Reporting; and The … Read more »

By CMG  •  Posted on March 21, 2013

Congratulations to CMG member and Canadian Press reporter Mike Blanchfield for winning the $25,000 James Travers Foreign Corresponding Fellowship.  Mike will use the grant to spend a year investigating the impact of cluster bombs around the world. Martin O’Hanlon Director of CWA Canada, … Read more »

By CMG  •  Posted on December 11, 2012

The 15th annual Gala of Canadian Journalists for Free Expression (CFJE) honouring courageous reporting from home and abroad was held on December 5 under the theme : What you don’t know can hurt you. The 2012 CJFE Award winners Enquête (Canada) Tara Singh Hayer Memorial Award Rami … Read more »

By CMG  •  Posted on May 7, 2012

The winner of the inaugural Canadian Association of Journalists’ labour reporting award is Huffington Post Canada’s Rachel Mendleson, whose article, “Canada income inequality and the decline of unions,” describes how unionized workers turn “bad jobs into better jobs” as a … Read more »

Bookmark and Share
© 2000- CMG